1/22/18 - Trails are closed due to melting conditions and rainfall. They will reopen when frozen solid or dried out.


Left to right

Sitting: Dan Gudahl, Jodi Bonney, James Johnston, Jim Ure, Chris Van Roekel, Jason Schultes and of course Dobby the dog

Standing: Dave Burmeister, Karla Messerich, Shannon Smith, Pamela Swanson, Darwin Pierce, Jan Brower, Gary Olsen, Sara Grove, Matt Reiling, Barbra Jotzke-Torrier, Rob Davis, Marilyn Graffunder, and LeeRoy Wagner

Board of Directors

Duane Sand, President
Norwalk, Iowa
Iowa Natural Heritage Foundation

Liz Garst, Treasurer
Coon Rapids, Iowa

Jennifer Garst, Secretary
Ames, Iowa

Elaine Appleby
West Des Moines, Iowa

Todd Coffelt
Des Moines, Iowa
Iowa Department of Natural Resources

Chris Eddy
Coon Rapids, Iowa

Sarah Garst
West Des Moines, Iowa

Ryan Hanser
West Des Moines, Iowa

Fred Kirschenmann
Ames, Iowa
Leopold Center for Sustainable Agriculture

Butch Niebuhr
Perry, Iowa

Robert G. Riley, Jr.
Des Moines, Iowa

Management Team

Dan Gudahl photo credit Nion at CR EnterpriseDan Gudahl
Executive Director
712-684-2697 Ext. 101

Learn more about Dan in this Coon Rapids Enterprise article.


Rob Davis
Conservation Land Manager
712-684-2697 Ext. 103

Karla Messerich
Guest Services Manager
712-684-2697 Ext. 102




Sara Grove
712-684-2697 Ext. 106

Barbra Jotzke-Torrier
Director of Development and Communications
712-684-2697 Ext. 104

Darwin Pierce
Farm Manager